Kershaw, and Ethier Nominated For Gold Gloves Again


The finalists for the gold gloves were announced today, and low and behold guys, two Dodgers were named as finalists. The Rawlings gold glove is awarded to the top defensive players at each position. A group of managers and coaches vote on every position in both leagues, but are not allowed to vote for players on their own teams.

The two Dodgers nominated this year for gold gloves, are Clayton Kershaw, and Andre Ethier. Kershaw and Ethier are both looking to win their second straight gold gloves, as both won last season.

Rawlings Gold Gloves

Kershaw is up against, Mark Buehrle of Miami, and Bronson Arroyo of the Reds. Meanwhile Ethier is competing against Jay Bruce of the Reds, and Jason Heyward of Atlanta. There are 21 past winners amongst the finalists, and 11 reigning winners. The winners will be announced Tuesday on ESPN2 at 6:30PM Pacific time. Kershaw was once again awesome with the glove, but of course what isn’t he awesome at? Kershaw did not make an error this year, and had 11 pick-offs. As for Ethier, he was once again, outstanding in right field. Dre only committed three errors all season long, and was among the league leaders in zone rating for right fielders. Also note, Adrian Gonzalez is a finalist at first base for his defense with the Red Sox. You can check out the full list of finalists below. Let’s wish Kershaw, and Ethier good luck tomorrow as they try and take home their second gold glove awards.

American League

Pitcher: Jeremy Hellickson, Jake Peavy, C.J. Wilson

Catcher: Alex Avila, Russell Martin, A.J. Pierzynski, Matt Wieters

First base: Adrian Gonzalez, Eric Hosmer, Mark Teixeira

Second base: Dustin Ackley, Robinson Cano, Dustin Pedroia

Shortstop: Elvis Andrus, J.J. Hardy, Brendan Ryan

Third base: Adrian Beltre, Brandon Inge, Mike Moustakas

Left field: Alex Gordon, Desmond Jennings, David Murphy

Center field: Austin Jackson, Adam Jones, Mike Trout

Right field: Shin-Soo Choo, Jeff Francoeur, Josh Reddick

National League

Pitcher: Bronson Arroyo, Mark Buehrle, Clayton Kershaw

Catcher: Molina, Miguel Montero, Carlos Ruiz

First base: Freddie Freeman, Adam LaRoche, Votto

Second base: Darwin Barney, Aaron Hill, Phillips

Shortstop: Zack Cozart, Ian Desmond, Jose Reyes, Jimmy Rollins

Third base: Chase Headley, Aramis Ramirez, David Wright

Left field: Ryan Braun, Carlos Gonzalez, Martin Prado

Center field: Michael Bourn, Andrew McCutchen, Drew Stubbs

Right field: Jay Bruce, Andre Ethier, Jason Heyward