Award season is upon us. The GM winter meetings are under way, playe..."/> Award season is upon us. The GM winter meetings are under way, playe..."/>

Clayton Kershaw is a Finalist for the National League Cy Young Award


Award season is upon us. The GM winter meetings are under way, players with qualifying offers are mulling over whether they will accept or decline and become free agents, and the BBWAA (Baseball Writers’ Association of America) are compiling votes for the MLB awards. The Rawlings Gold Glove Awards were already handed out, and neither nominated Dodger (Clayton Kershaw and Andre Ethier) won. Clayton already was honored last month by receiving the prestigious Roberto Clemente Award, and now he has the chance to win back-to-back NL Cy Young Awards after it was announced that the young southpaw is one of three finalists.

Sept. 28, 2012; Los Angeles, CA, USA; Los Angeles Dodgers starting pitcher Clayton Kershaw (22) throws a pitch during the game against the Colorado Rockies at Dodger Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Jayne Kamin-Oncea-US PRESSWIRE

This is the first time that the BBWAA has released the names for the top vote getters before the actual results are revealed. I can imagine a future televised announcement akin to the unveiling of the Academy Award nominations. The Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year awards will be announced on Monday (November 12)  for both leagues, then the Manager of the Year Awards will be presented on Tuesday (November 13). The Cy Young awards will be on Wednesday (November 14), and the Most Valuable Player awards will be on Thursday (November 15). The winners will be announced live on the MLB Network starting Monday, and each award will encompass a one-hour long show at 6 pm ET. For more information you can check out the BBWAA website.

The finalists are:

American League Rookie of the Year

Yoenis Cespedes, Yu Darvish, Mike Trout

National League Rookie of the Year

Todd Frazier, Bryce Harper, Wade Miley

American League Manager of the Year

Bob Melvin, Buck Showalter, Robin Ventura

National League Manager of the Year

Dusty Baker, Bruce Bochy, Davey Johnson

American League Cy Young

David Price, Justin Verlander, Jered Weaver

National League Cy Young

R.A. Dickey, Gio Gonzalez, Clayton Kershaw

American League Most Valuable Player

Adrian Beltre, Miguel Cabrera, Robinson Cano, Josh Hamilton, Mike Trout

National League Most Valuable Player

Ryan Braun, Chase Headley, Andrew McCutchen, Yadier Molina, Buster Posey


You can read my argument for Clayton Kershaw winning a consecutive Cy Young award, yet R.A. Dickey and his triumphant year of the knuckleball may get in Kersh’s way. Our Lasorda’s Lair poll yielded these results:

Who do you think will win the NL Cy Young Award for 2012?

  • ·         Clayton Kershaw (60%, 33 Votes)
  • ·         R.A. Dickey (38%, 21 Votes)
  • ·         Gio Gonzalez (2%, 1 Votes)
  • ·         Johnny Cueto (0%, 0 Votes)
  • ·         Craig Kimbrel (0%, 0 Votes)
  • ·         Other (0%, 0 Votes)

Total Voters: 55

Although R.A. Dickey had a standout year for New York, Clayton Kershaw is clearly the superior pitcher. Due to lack of run support from his

R.A. Dickey could take home the coveted prize over Kersh. Photo: Steve Mitchell-US PRESSWIRE

teammates in 2012, Kershaw finished the season with a respectable 14-9 record. Kersh was the best in the league in ERA (2.53) and WHIP (1.02). He struck out just one less batter than R.A. Dickey on the season with 229. Remember, Kersh missed some innings due to his hip impingement. He also battled a bout with the flu on Opening Day and plantar fasciitis through most of the season.

R.A. Dickey just turned 38-years old, and this may very well be his last look at a possible Cy Young award. He finished the 2012 season with a 2.73 ERA, 230 Ks, 1.05 WHIP, and a 20-6 record.

A.J. Ellis, Kershaw’s battery mate, summed up the NL Cy Young award race perfectly on Twitter tonight:

[blackbirdpie url=”″]