Robert Barr Interviews Former Dodger Ron Roenicke


Robert Barr and the Glacier Pilots are back for another interview in their series of alumni interviews of former Glacier Pilots players. Robert Barr is the curator, creator, and editor of the site called This is a site dedicated to the history of the Anchorage Glacier Pilots. The Glacier Pilots are an Alaskan summer Baseball team belonging to the Alaskan Baseball league.

Milwaukee Brewers manager Ron Roenicke watches from dugout during the game against the Oakland Athletics at Miller Park.-Benny Sieu-USA TODAY Sports

The Alaskan Baseball League or ABL for short is an amateur collegiate summer Baseball league in Alaska. There are currently six teams in the ABL. There are two teams in Anchorage, the Glacier Pilots, and the Anchorage Bucs. Other teams include the Alaska Goldpanners of Fairbanks, the Chugiak-Eagle River Chinooks, Mat-Su Miners, and the Peninsula Oilers. The ABL is a member and regularly sends teams to the National Baseball Congress World Series, which is annually held in Wichita Kansas.

Many Major League players have played for the Alaskan Baseball League, and even the Glacier Pilots. Some of the ABL alumni are even former Dodgers, like Mickey Hatcher, and Darren Dreifort. Last time Robert interviewed former Dodger pitcher Darren Dreifort, and former Dodger and 1988 World Series championship member Mickey Hatcher.

In this next installment Robert interviews former Dodger player, Ron Roenicke. Roenicke played for the Dodgers from 1981-1983. He also became a big league manager, and is currently the manager of the Milwaukee Brewers. Roenicke has been in Baseball as a player, coach, and manager for a long time. This time he sits down with Robert Bar to talk about his time spent playing Baseball in Alaska.

Roenicke talks about more moose chasing, which I guess is fairly common over there in Alaska. He talks about his playing time with the 1976 Valley Green Giants, which later became the Matsu-Miners. Roenicke later played for the Alaska Goldpanners in the National Baseball Congress (NBC) championship.