The 2015 Hall Of Fame Ballot is Filled With Former Dodgers


One way or another there is bound to be a Dodger or former Dodger elected into this year’s hall of fame ballot. The 2015 ballot is filled with players who once wore Blue.

Former Dodger catcher Mike Piazza will be trying to get elected for the third time. In his first attempt he collected 57.8 percent of the vote, and in his second attempt he earned 62.2 percent of the votes. A hall of fame candidate must receive at least 75 percent of the overall vote to be inducted into the National Baseball hall of fame. 

Live Feed

MLB rumors roundup: Tatis and Yankees, Dansby Swanson, Carlos Rodon
MLB rumors roundup: Tatis and Yankees, Dansby Swanson, Carlos Rodon /

Call to the Pen

  • Why Dansby Swanson makes sense for the Dodgers, explainedFanSided
  • MLB rumors: Dansby Swanson could make Braves worst nightmare a realityFanSided
  • With departures, Los Angeles Dodgers must retool for 2023Call to the Pen
  • MLB Insider: Diamondbacks showing interest in Justin TurnerFanSided
  • Latest World Series Odds for Every Team Following Big Free Agency Signings (Astros Remain Favorite After Jose Abreu Signing)FanSided
  • Mark McGwire

    is on the ballot for this year’s Hall Of Fame election-Jake Roth-USA TODAY Sports

    Piazza of course is considered by many to be one of the best hitting catchers of all time. Piazza, the godson of our site namesake Tommy Lasorda was drafted by the Dodgers in the 162 round of the 1988 amateur draft. He went on to win the rookie of the year award in 1993, become a 12-time all-star while with the Dodgers, and hit 396 home runs as a catcher. Piazza ended his career with 427 home runs.

    Dodger manager Don Mattingly will also be on the ballot. While Piazza is in his third try to gain hall of fame entrance, Mattingly is in his fifteenth year of nomination. Last season he garnered 8.2 percent of the vote.

    Mattingly might be one of the most deserving candidates as he finished his career with over 2,000 hits, and won the 1985 American League MVP award.

    Another Dodger on the ballot is current hitting coach Mark McGwire. Big Mac never played for the Dodgers, but finished his career with 583 home runs. McGwire hit 70 home runs in 1998, which at the time broke the all-time single season home run record.

    Other former Dodgers on the ballot include first baseman Fred McGriff, current broadcaster Nomar Garciaparra, pitcher Pedro Martinez, and second baseman Jeff Kent.

    Martinez, and Garciaparra are first time balloters. McGriff is in his sixth year, and Kent is in his second try to get elected into the Hall. McGriff received 11.7 percent last year, and Kent picked up 15.2 percent on last year’s ballot.

    Believe it or not, former Dodger hurler Jason Schmidt is also on the ballot for the first time. The top vote getters from last year’s ballot Craig Biggio and Jeff Bagwell will also be returning as well. Of course both of those former players never played for the Dodgers.

    The Baseball Writers Association will announce the Hall of Fame vote results on January 6. You can catch the announcement on the MLB Network, and